Toilet/sleep training

I haven’t written a post for a while. To be honest I’ve just been so into trying to get Mia in to a good sleep routine that I haven’t had the mind for much else … Apart from watching the bride of Istanbul … But that’s another story. Mia mostly sleeps much better now, she sleeps longer at her nap times in the day and most of the time goes to sleep much easier, in the evening most days she goes straight to sleep, but she still cries quite a few times during the night, and eats twice in the night. It’s definitely no where near perfect, but it’s much better than it was. She seems to know exactly when I’m getting into bed and falling asleep, and the party normally starts a out then.

My main issue now is toilet training Lior, I feel like it’s never going to happen. I have talked about it briefly once before but now Lior is almost 3 and he has been telling me a lot lately that he needs to do wee or poo and so he has been sitting on the potty and saying that he has done something when in fact he hasn’t done anything.

So last week I started taking his nappy off in the afternoon after he comes home from nursery. He puts on his big boy underpants. He has mostly been quite happy to go and sit on his potty, he takes toys with him and I sit with him. He has been doing wee almost every morning when he wakes up in the potty, but then he says he will tell me when he needs the toilet, but he doesn’t. He sometimes does a poo and won’t even tell me. Sometimes he will say he has done, and then say we need to change his nappy, and I explain that he is wearing underpants, not a nappy and I ask him where we do wee wee and poo poo and he says in the potty, but it just isnt happening. He never tells me now when he needs to do a wee, he just does it, and he either stands there looking down as he is doing it, or he starts crying that he has done it. I stay very calm and tell him don’t worry it’s ok, next time tell me before and we will go and do it in the potty.. and he says ok.

I feel like I’m losing my mind, this is the 4th time that we will be trying to get him out of nappies and I am not willing to give up this time.

I could really do with some advice. I went to a lecture on this, and I am trying to do it the right way. He showed so many signs that he was ready for this, and now it feels like he isn’t and I don’t know what to do.

I am going to continue for the next week taking his nappy off after nursery in the afternoon and I really hope that there will be some improvement after this week when he gets used to this change . Any advice or thought’s would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

One thought on “Toilet/sleep training

  1. Hi! I’ve been reading your blogs for a while… can identify with a lot! Re potty training… I have 2.5 year old twins boy and girl. We decided to train them both last week. My girl was so easy, no issues at all. My boy was a disaster! After 3 days we gave up and will try again later on at some point. I also consulted with various experts about how to do it. There are obviously different approaches… I really hope you manage to do it this time!! Would love to hear how you get on.

    Like

Leave a comment